In these states, travelers must pass quarantine or submit to a negative COVID-19 test.

Denys KhmarskyiAugust 10, 2020

Travelers must pass quarantine or submit to a negative COVID-19 test.

Travelers must pass quarantine or submit to a negative COVID-19 test. As states reopened, some of them have tightened restrictions and travelers may not be allowed to come and go as they please in the face of the coronavirus pandemic.

USA TODAY has updated information on states that prevent interstate travel by requiring or recommending that visitors and residents returning from other states be quarantined. And some states require a recent negative COVID-19 test instead of a general quarantine policy.

Some counties or municipalities issue similar advice to travelers, so anyone who wants to travel or spend a summer vacation must check government websites to find out about their destination and wherever they plan to stay overnight.

These are states that require or recommend quarantine for travelers:

USA covid


Governor Mike Dunleavy announced that non-Alaska residents will require a negative PCR test for COVID-19 taken 72 hours before arriving in the state on August 11, or confirmation that they are waiting for the results of the test taken during that 72-hour period. Non-residents without prior testing may receive it upon arrival, but for a fee.

“If a non-resident arrives without a pre-test, the test is available at $250 per test,” the policy on the state website says. “The traveler will be forced to quarantine while waiting for the results”.

Testing is free for Alaska residents.

The previous policy, shown below, will remain in force until August 10.

Dunleavy and the State Department of Health and Human Services have abolished the mandatory 14-day quarantine for travelers. Travellers who travel between states and abroad can come to Alaska if they meet the following requirements:

  • If they pass the test within 72 hours to five days before leaving their destination. They may arrive in Alaska with proof of a negative PCR test for Coronavirus. They may not enter if the test is positive.
  • Alternatively, if they had a negative PCR within five days of departure, they may repeat the test upon arrival in Alaska.
  • If the traveler is a member of the critical infrastructure staff as defined by the state. The traveler should adhere to their company’s community protection plan, which is available in the state.

If none of the above is applicable (the traveller has no test result, refuses to be tested or is not a critical employee), the person must be quarantined for 14 days.


Although the State no longer requires a 14-day quarantine for visitors. It continues to ask the Arkansansansans to consider this when returning from a trip to affected areas.


Starting June 25, the state will require a 14-day quarantine for any visitor or resident returning from the region with a speed of 10 positive tests for every 100,000 residents with a seven-day moving average.

Click here to see the full list.

district Columbia

Washington, D.C. will require travelers arriving in the city for a 14-day quarantine if they arrive from a high-risk area for a minor trip.

D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser said on July 24 that the self-isolation requirement will come into effect next week. Maryland and Virginia bordering the District of Columbia are exempt from this order. But other states with an average of 10 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people in seven days will be affected.

Click here to read full text.

Read also Airlines should rethink their refusal to refund passengers during COVID-19

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us